What is UPSC?

Union Public Service Commission, which is famous for its short form UPSC conducts civil services exam every year popularly known among all Indians as IAS exam.

Civil services exam is conducted by government of India for recruiting officers on the position of Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Police Service (IPS), Indian Foreign Service (IFS), Indian Railway Traffic Service (IRTS), Indian Revenue Service (IRS) and Indian Audit and Accounts Services (IAAS) etc.

These exams and other related exams are mainly for Group A and Group B level officers which are among the highest ranks officers posts.

Indian Service officers are mainly given state cadres after the selection process. Ministry of Personnel and Public Grievances, Government of India, is responsible for controlling the cadre authority among all states of India.

Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India controls the IPS cadre among the states of India. Administration of cities, districts and states are controlled and maintained by IAS officers which plays a role of District Collector.

Eligibility :

For the IAS, IFS, IPS and other group A services, a candidate must be a citizen of India.
For group B services, a candidate must be one of the following:
A citizen of India or;
A person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia or Vietnam with an intention of settling permanently in India.

Educational Qualification :

To be eligible for UPSC exam, a candidate must possess one of the following educational qualifications
A degree from a Central, State or Deemed university
A degree received through correspondence or distance education
A degree from an open university
A qualification recognised by the Government of India as being equivalent to one of the above.

Age Limit :

The age limit as set by the UPSC panel is minimum of 21 years and the candidate should not have attained the age of 32 years as on August 1 of the year of examination. For OBC candidates the upper age limit is 35 years and for SC/ST, its is 37 years.